Joe Tringe


Portrait of  Joe Tringe
  • Title
    Nondestructive Evaluation Group Leader
  • Email
  • Phone
    (925) 422-7725
  • Organization
    Not Available

Joe Tringe leads a dynamic group of more than 40 engineers and technicians in the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) Materials Engineering Division, focused on characterizing a wide range of complex materials, structures, devices and systems.   Techniques of interest to the nondestructive evaluation (NDE) group include x-ray computed tomography (CT), laser and transducer-based ultrasound characterization, microwave interferometry and microwave interrogation of embedded sensors.  Dr. Tringe has led the group since 2017.   From 2003 to 2017, Dr. Tringe was a staff scientist in the Physics and Life Sciences Directorate where he synthesized and characterized devices and materials with novel electrical, optical and molecular transport properties.  He also developed advanced methods for characterizing phenomena associated with energetic materials safety.     Prior to joining LLNL in 2003 he led a group in the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) Space Vehicles Directorate which created and characterized radiation- and defect-tolerant electronic materials, devices and circuits for satellites.   Dr. Tringe has authored more than thirty-five peer-reviewed publications and five U.S. patents. 

PhD Materials Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, California

AB Physics, Harvard College, Cambridge, Massachusetts

M. Perez-Page, J. Makel, K. Guan, S. L. Zhang, J. W. Tringe, R. H. R. Castro, P. Stroeve, “Gas adsorption properties of ZSM-5 zeolites heated to extreme temperatures,” Ceramics International, Volume 42, Issue 14, 15423-15431, November 2016.

S. L. Zhang, M. Perez-Page, K. Guan, E. Yu, J. W. Tringe, R. H. R. Castro, R. Faller, P. Stroeve, Response to Extreme Temperatures of Mesoporous Silica MCM-41: Porous Structure Transformation Simulation and Modification of Gas Adsorption Properties, Langmuir, vol. 32, issue 44, 11422-11431, November 2016.

S. Van Norman, J. W. Tringe, J. Sain, J. Falconer and A. Weimer, “Using atomic layer deposited tungsten to increase thermal conductivity of a packed bed,” Applied Physics Letters, vol. 106, 153102, April 2015. 

T. Willey, L. Lauderbach, F. Gagliardi, T. van Buuren, E. Glascoe, J. W. Tringe, J. Lee, H. K. Springer, J. Ilavsky, “Mesoscale evolution of voids and microstructural changes in HMX-based explosives during heating through the beta-delta phase transition, “ Journal of Applied Physics, vol. 118, August 2015.

M. Rahman, E. Yu, E. Forman, C. Roberson-Mailloux, J. Tung, J. W. Tringe, and P. Stroeve, “Modified release from lipid bilayer coated mesoporous silica nanoparticles using PEO-PPO-PEO triblock copolymers,” Colloids and Surfaces B-Biointerfaces, vol. 122, 818-822, October 2014.

J. W. Tringe, E. A. Glascoe, M. A. McClelland, D. Greenwood, R. D. Chambers, H. K. Springer, and H. W. Levie, “Pre-ignition confinement and deflagration violence in LX-10 and PBX 9501”, Journal of Applied Physics vol. 116, 054903, August 2014.

N. Ileri, P. Stroeve, A. Palazoglu, R. Faller, S. H. Zaidi, H. T. Nguyen, J. A. Britten, S. E. Létant, and J. W. Tringe, “Fabrication of functional silicon-based nanoporous membranes,” Journal of Micro-Nanolithography MEMS and MOEMS, vol. 11, no. 1, Art. No. 013012, 22 March 2012.

N. Ileri, S. E. Létant, A. Palazoglu, P. Stroeve, J. W. Tringe, and R. Faller, “Mesoscale simulations of biomolecular transport through nanofilters with tapered and cylindrical geometries,” Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, vol. 14,  no. 43, 15066-15077, 2012.

J. W. Tringe, H. W. Levie, B. S. El-Dasher, R. Swift and M. A. Wall, “In situ observation of the formation of hollow zinc oxide shells,” Applied Physics Letters, vol. 98, no. 24, Art. No. 241907, June 2011.

J. W. Tringe and J. D. Plummer, “Electrical and structural properties of polycrystalline silicon,”  Journal of Applied Physics, vol. 87, no. 11, 1 June 2000.

  • IMA Officer of the Year, U. S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research (2010)
  • Technical Management Award, U. S. Air Force Materiel Command (2002)
  • National Academy of Engineering:  2003 Symposium on Frontiers of Engineering
  • U. S. Air Force IDEA Award (2001, 2005)
  • U. S. Air Force Research Laboratory Scientific/Technical Achievement Team Award (2000)
  • Stanford University Graduate Fellowship (1994-95)
  • Dr. Theodore von Karman Graduate Fellowship (1994-95)
  • Distinguished Graduate of Air Force R.O.T.C. Detachment 365 (1994)
  • Rowland Fund Grant for research at Harvard University (1993)
  • Harvard College Scholarship (1992, 1993, 1994)
  • Harvard College Detur Prize (1991)